underground in Wales


Note: from Dad This was a underground exploration with full kit plus very experienced leaders ,
It is not something that you should  undertake lightly or on your own ,

I had to set off early in the morning as this was a long drive from our house ,  this mine was where they  mined iron and coal

one of the pit props

some of the coal  we found ,

a old rail

I had to clamber over a lot of rocks and boulders as the mine had different levels.

people were very kind to me and told me a lot of things about how they used to mine, they took time to explain things to me and to keep me safe

one of the tunnels we don’t have a good camera which can take photos in the dark  , my dad had to take the photos !

I had to climb over some big boulders I really enjoyed this and was very grateful I had been invited

old stone rail tracks ?

me next to a pit prop

4 Responses to “underground in Wales”

  1. Superb Work Jake, the Gentlemen who took you underground at the weekend are friends of mine and were quite surprised i knew who you were from them describing you, as i have seen your excellent website before and was familliar with your exploits.Anyway, just wanted to say keep up the good work, this is a very informative site about very interesting aspects of our history and is a credit to you and your father.

  2. Jake was very grateful to have the opportunity and wishes to thank everyone for the experience, Jakes wants to thank people for the Kindness and the time people took for Jake to understand the mining techniques and the mine itself, Jake wants to thank the person who invited him down. Kind regards Jakes dad and Jake

  3. Hi pal, looked like you really enjoyed the mooch! Wish my Dad took me in a mine when I was your age :)Anyway, here's a link to a picture of Rivington Pike circa 1910. (Note it is already out of use and the ground level, it's eroded a lot in the last century hasn't it?)http://www.boltonmuseums.org.uk/collections/local-history/social-history-images/200299/imageFileKeep up the good work.

  4. thanks for the photo, we will be going to the pike some time over this weekend , Jake really did enjoy his time underground, Jake got invited because of his blog and its good that people follow the blog to find out some of the more interesting sites around Winter Hill, Jake will be going to Holland and Germany for Easter.thanks for taking a look at Jakes Blog,Jakes Dad

Leave a comment